broccoli-quiche2We didn’t eat quiche much when I was growing up, maybe because my father always referred to it as “kwee-chee” and my mother just didn’t want to deal with his silliness at the table.  I always thought she should be glad he didn’t calll it “quickie.”  Anyway, it’s not something I remember to make often.  

This year it was a special request for my new year’s day brunch, so I dug around and found a recipe for broccoli and cheese quiche.  As always, I played with the recipe.  And as always, results were mixed.

Ingredients:

1 pie crust (homemade, frozen, whatever)

frozen organic broccoli florets

1 jar whole mushrooms, drained and rinsed

1 c. heavy cream

3 eggs (organic brown is what I used)

1 tbs. all-purpose flour

salt and pepper

1 bag shredded sharp cheddar cheese

How I made it:

I’m lazy and I don’t like the feel of flour on my skin, so I NEVER make my own pie crusts.  This recipe uses a Marie Callendar frozen crust, which is great because you don’t have to bake it ahead of time.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cook three handfuls of frozen broccoli florets in water until tender.

Meanwhile, mix 3 eggs with 1 cup heavy cream, 1 tbs. flour, a dash of salt and a sprinkle of pepper, and a heaping handful of cheese.  Whisk until blended and there are no flour lumps.  By this time the broccoli is done.  Drain it (since I didn’t want a bunch of extra water, I spun it in a salad spinner just a bit).

Sprinkle some cheese (not a lot, just a little) on the bottom of the frozen pie crust. Layer the broccoli over the bottom.  Add some jarred whole mushrooms (about half a jar is enough) so that there will be one or two mushrooms per slice.  Pour the egg mixture over the top.

Bake in the oven on a cookie sheet lined with foil for 35 minutes.  Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

The results:

It was yummy!  It was not, however, very pretty.  The middle didn’t set as well as the edges, so it was kind of sloppy on the plate. Lucky for me my brunch guests were not finicky.

For next time:

I’d bake it at least 3 minutes more, maybe 5 minutes.  Just so it doesn’t ooze over the plate.

