Refrigerator RoundupPeriodically I find that, while my refrigerator is full, I don’t really have the standard ingredients for a meal.  That’s when I have to play “refrigerator roulette.” This is where I grab a bunch of things that look like they go together and hope for the best.

Tonight it was left over ravioli, chicken, broccoli, mushrooms, and jarred alfredo sauce.

Ingredients:

Left over cheese ravioli (2 cups or thereabouts)

Chicken thighs (2)

Bernstein’s light Cheese Fantastico salad dressing

Frozen organic broccoli florets (you’ll see these again and again, since it’s my favorite veggie)

Bertoli mushroom alfredo sauce ( 1 cup)

2% milk (1 cup)

Jarred whole mushrooms (left over from the quiche two days ago)

How I made it:

As I’ve said, I’m lazy.  I hate to do dishes, so I am a HUGE fan of the foil packet cooking in the oven. So, I cook many many things wrapped in tin foil in the oven (I attribute it to all those Girl Scout campfire meals!).

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Put the chicken in a foil lined baking dish.  Cover with salad dressing (2-3 tbs maybe) and wrap tightly.  Cook for an hour.

When the timer for the chicken dings, turn the oven off but leave the chicken where it is.  Bring a pot of water to a boil, and toss in 2 hands full of broccoli.  Cook for 4 minutes, then add the leftover ravioli for 2 minutes (just to get them hot).  Strain.

At the same time (cooking for me is sometimes a circus act), heat 1 cup of the jarred sauce, 1 cup of 2% milk, and the mushrooms over medium heat.  Stir to combine.

When everything is hot and ready, pour 1/2 cup of sauce over the ravioli and broccoli and add the chicken. 

The results:

This was a satisfyingly creamy dinner for a cold and snowy Saturday night on the sofa.  It was not something I’d make for company, since it was kind of bland. 

For next time:

I’d add some garlic to the sauce.  And maybe garnish the top with some diced tomato.

