This is an easy way to be the belle of the PTA bake sale or get rave reviews at the office potluck.  No picture this time, because I couldn’t find my camera before I had to take the cupcakes to the reception tonight.

Ingredients:

1 dark chocolate cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)

water

vegetable oil (I used Omega-3 enriched vegetable oil to fool myself these were healthy)

eggs (again, deluding myself by using Eggland’s Best, which have less cholesterol)

tiramisu mascarpone, beaten until smooth (get it in the speciality deli section of your market)

1 can of rich chocolate frosting

How I Made Them:

Follow the directions on the box.  The only difference is I added a little extra water and beat the batter a bit longer to make the cupcakes airier (to make room for the filling).  Bake the cupcakes and let them cool completely.

Using a paring knife, cut a small cone of cake out of the top of each cupcake.  Pipe the mascarpone into the holes (a ziploc bag with a corner cut out works if you don’t have a pastry bag).  Slice the point of the cake cone off and fit the top of the cupcake back on.  You might need to smoosh it down.  Frost with the fudgy frosting.

That’s it.

The Results:

Rave reviews — and an empty cake plate in next to no time.

For Next Time:

I’d decorate the top of each cupcake with a little of the mascarpone and top with a chocolate covered espresso bean.

