One of the best things about being on vacation is having time to actually cook.  Tomorrow, to celebrate my parents’ 40th anniversary, I’m making boef bourgignon (the famous dish my best friend and I made a couple of months ago).  So, since that will mean I spend most of the day in the kitchen, I went ahead and made a breakfast casserole for tomorrow morning.  It’s truly a “Kate Creation,” so we’ll have to see how it turns out.

Ingredients:

6 eggs, beaten
1 cup 1% milk
1 package Ore-Ida potatoes o’brien
1 cup shredded gouda
1 cup shredded pepper jack cheese
Pam or other cooking spray

How I made it:

Defrost the potatoes in the microwave.  While that’s defrosting, line a medium rectangular baking dish (9″x12″ or so) with foil.  Spray with cooking spray and set aside.

Beat six eggs in a mixing bowl.  Add the milk and whisk together.

Spoon the defrosted potatoes evenly into the baking dish.  Slowly pour the egg mixture over the potatoes.  With a fork, press the potatoes down to allow  the egg mixture to flow into all the nooks and crannies.

Sprinkle one half of the casserole with shredded pepper jack cheese, and the other half with the shredded gouda (because some folks like spicy and some like plain). 

Refrigerate overnight.  In the morning, bake at 350 degrees covered for 25 minutes, then uncovered until set.

