My fabulous grandmother gave me a cherry red KitchenAid mixer for Christmas this year.  I’ve longed for a KitchenAid mixer for 20 plus years, so this is a big treat.  That said, the inaugural use of the KitchenAid mixer had to be special.  So it sat in its giant box for two weeks, waiting for a night when my best girlfriend was free to come over for the Mixer Christening.

We made ginormous chocolate chip cookies. 

It’s a basic recipe. Cream 1 cup of butter with 3/4 cup sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar.  Add 2 eggs, then 2 tsp vanilla.  Once well blended, add 2 1/4 cups flour plus 1/2 tsp salt plus 1 tsp baking soda.  Finally, add 2 cups of chocolate chips and chopped walnuts to your taste.  Bake at 375 degrees for 11 minutes.

Later on, her husband and their 2 year old son, Little D, came over to partake of the warm Mixer Christening cookie offering.  Then, Little D did the sacred Mixer Dance.  This is the stomping round and round dance he does whenever a KitchenAid mixer is whirling. 

It was the perfect way to welcome the newest addition to my appliance family.  I just wish Grandma could have been here to join in the fun.  I guess I’ll just send her some cookies instead.

