I feel guilty about going out of town and leaving a full fridge, so I’m always giving away random produce and dairy on my way to the airport. Turns out, that neurosis isn’t unique to me. I was recently asked to rescue some bison, peppers, and other ingredients for chili from a wandering friend’s fridge. This is the result (sadly, the peppers didn’t make it – RIP).

Ingredients:

1 lb ground bison (free range, vegetarian fed)
2 cups dried black beans (rinsed and soaked over night)
4 organic tomatoes, diced
1 cup diced onion (I use frozen because I hate chopping onions)
1 8oz package of frozen organic corn
2 cans organic tomato sauce
2 chipotle peppers in adobe sauce, removed from sauce and chopped

How I made it:

Brown the meat over medium-high heat in a large non-stick pot. Once the meat is cooked through (no pink), add the onion and cook until onions are translucent. Add the chopped tomatoes, beans, and corn.  Stir to combine all the ingredients, and then add the tomato sauce. Stir to combine again. Add the chipotle pepper last and stir again.

Turn the heat down to low, and cook for an hour or until the beans are soft.

How it turned out:

Boy, howdy! Two little peppers brought the heat to the entire big pot of chili. For little kids and wimps like me, one pepper would be enough.

