It happens too often — I make a recipe with egg whites and then don’t know what to do with the yolks.  This time, when I was making the fortune cookies, I planned ahead.  I saved the yolks by stirring them together with a little half-and-half and storing them in an airtight glass container in the fridge. Then, for a quick Sunday morning breakfast, I could use them in this crustless quiche.

Ingredients:Best Quiche

5 egg yolks
5 eggs
1 cup low-fat milk (not skim)
1/2 cup half-and-half
1 cup shredded mozarella
1 tbs butter
1 cup chopped onion (I used frozen)
2 cups broccoli florets ( I used frozen)
1/2 tbs crushed red pepper

How I Made It:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a glass or porcelain deep dish pie pan or other casserole dish  (you can also use ramekins) with non-stick baking spray.

In a large skillet, saute the broccoli and onion in butter.  Don’t brown the onions, you want them translucent and fragrant.  Sprinkle with the crushed red pepper, cover, and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk the egg yolks and eggs together.  Then add the milk and half-and-half and whisk together.  You can add the cheese at this step, but it will settle to the bottom of the mixing bowl and not be spread evenly in the pie pan (I realized that this morning).

Fill the bottom of the pie pan/baking dish with the vegetables.  Pour the egg mixture over the top. If you put the cheese in the egg mixture like I did, be sure to stir it around a bit so it’s evenly distributed through the quiche.  If you waited, now’s the time to add the cheese and give a little stir.

Place your pie/baking dish on a cookie sheet and bake in the oven for 40 minutes or until the quiche has set.  Serve warm.

How It Turned Out:

The crushed red pepper keeps it from being too bland. Otherwise, it’s a relatively plain yet satisfying breakfast.

