Summertime is Strawberry Time.  I remember going as a little girl to a local patch with my Nanny and picking strawberries (popping them into my mouth instead of the little bucket she gave me), and relishing in winter the super-sweet strawberry jam she made the summers before.  Maybe this is why I love them so much.

Tonight, when I found myself with 3 quarts of strawberries fixing to round the bend, I decided to make a feast of them.  Two strawberry sauces and one lovely fresh salad later, we had a supper perfect for a summer evening.

Strawberry Salad

Toss organic baby spinach and spring greens with almonds, feta, and sliced strawberries. Dress with a balsamic vinaigrette.  Voila!

Strawberry Salad

Salmon in Strawberry White Wine Sauce

This is a basic packet salmon in parchment recipe (25 minutes in a 400 degree oven). The innovation is a sauce made of white wine (chardonnay is what I had on hand), sliced strawberries, a pinch of ginger, and 1 tbs of honey.  Combine these ingredients in a heavy bottom saucepan over medium heat, stirring periodically until it begins to simmer and the sauce turns a lovely strawberry pink. Spoon the sauce over the salmon in the parchment (or foil) packet, seal, and cook until done though.

Strawberry Salmon

My supper companions said that the fish was moist without being mushy, and flavorful without being too sweet.  Seconds were had, so I’m thinking this concoction was a winner.

Strawberry Pinot Sauce

I also made a red wine sauce with 1 cup of Irony Pinot Noir and 1 cup pureed strawberries, brought to a boil in a saucepan and then slowly reduced. I used this one to finish a pan-cooked boneless sirloin steak.  Also yummy, but not as pretty as the salmon with sauce (hence, no picture).

