It’s been a month since I fell and broke my ankle, a month since I planned a dinner party, a month since I cooked anything more exciting than a lean cuisine.  It’s been a very long month.

So I invited my best friend and her family over for Sunday Supper and set out to find something wonderful that I could prepare sitting down or balanced on my knee walker, something that didn’t involve the scary hot stovetop. A little perusal of Pinterest resulted in inspiration from Table for Two‘s crock pot broccoli and beef recipe.  I adjusted it to serve eight, reducing the soy sauce (too much sodium) and adding more vegetables.

Ingredients:

2 cups Swanson beef broth
3/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
1 and 2/3 tbs of Gourmet Garden organic garlic minced garlic paste
2/3 cup dark brown sugar
2 lbs of beef flank steak, sliced across the grain
4 tbs cornstarch
4 cups fresh organic broccoli florets
2 cups of organic baby carrots, sliced lengthways
1 cup fresh sliced mushrooms

How I Made It:

Whisk the beef broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, and garlic together in the crock pot.  Add the sliced beef and ensure that all the pieces are covered in the cooking liquid.  Cook on low for 6 hours.

With a half hour to go, add the cornstarch by whisking it into a few tablespoons of the cooking liquid and then return it to the crock pot.  Add the broccoli, carrots, and mushrooms and continue cooking for 30 minutes.  You want the veggies cooked by still firm.  Serve over brown rice.

How It Turned Out:

Pretty tasty, this is definitely a recipe I’ll make again.

Beef and Broccoli

Makes 8 servings.
7 Weight Watchers Points Plus per serving.

